Mindseye

By Mindseye

Dads Day

Very late to bed last night, started to watch Joe Black at 11.30, was nearly 2am when I turned in, found myself crying once Id got into bed...maybe watchi g a film about death coming to take you wasnt such a good idea :-/

Woke at 5 with excrutiating cramp in my left calf..never jumped out of bed so fast in all my life, sooo painful, still have a kind of knot there!

Back to sleep, woke just after 9, so was then up against it as I was supposed to be leaving around 10, quick shower, hair washed and blown, breakfast.....well, half a banana and a swig of water, then off to fill up,with diesel, buy some crisps to take with me to middle son and Dils, collected a Costa, then drove straight to Congleton. The little ones had decorated the kitchen for their daddy, complete with banners, cards, cupcakes, pancakes and his favourite chocolate bars.

A moving meet up, a third emotional handing over of a little piece of hub, the little girls didnt really notice what was going on, they were to interested in their new teddy bears, made from grandads shirts :-)

After we had lunch, we drove to Brereton Heath for a walk, an i ecream and some fresh milkshakes from The Little Cowshed, an automated milk vending machine in the middle of a field lol...... very popular, judging by the queue!!

Todays blip and extras are from our adventures in the woods..... by the time we got back, the sun had roken through, so we sat outside on sons bench that he has had made, as a tribute to his Dad, complete with a subtle engraving on the back which says "Pops" ...it also has a planter and a secure place for his dads ashes.

It was after 6 by the time i left, the girls were leaping around on their trampoline....before showers, hairwashes, pre school tomorrow.

When I got home I watered and collected up all the stray rose petals......I could see where daughter had left a lilly in a glass of water besides her dads stone. She had called us earlier whilst she was sat with him. She had also left a small box which I presumed was a card or plaque to her dad, but later this evening she told me it contained choclate bars, and that I should retrieve it and help myself.....as they had, so I did, and have..... haven't had a picnic for ages ;-)

I am just about to call it a day now, all 3 of our children have coped really well today, given the significance of the day, I think they know Dad would be proud of them, he always was :-)

Another first has come and gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.