A Model Blipper

When my friend CelloNerd and I met for lunch today at Dashi Noodle Bar downtown, we thought we'd just be catching up on each other's lives since we last saw each other seven months ago -- but we ended up being part of a photo shoot by Bellingham Herald staff photographer Phil Dwyer!

CelloNerd was the star, handling the green udon noodles in the St. Patrick's Day special soup with aplomb. (Here's what was in the bowl, if you're curious -- a good deal with that Guinness!)

I forgot to photograph my own noodle soup bowl, but here's what I chose from the menu posted on the wall: Topping -- tofu; Noodles -- green (spinach) udon; Dashi (broth) -- mushroom; Add-ons: ginger bacon. Each noodle bowl comes with scallions, bamboo shoots, seasonal veggies, and nori (dried laver seaweed), and there is a condiments table where you can add chopped cilantro, fresh limes, a variety of spicy sauces, kimchee, chopped peanuts, and many other things, if you wish.

Dashi's colorful exterior provides a bright spot at street level. The upper floors of the 1905 Dahlquist Building, which I blipped on June 8 last year, have not yet been renovated. There's been some talk of condos going in there; I'd love to live above Dashi!

(See me in CelloNerd's version of this interesting incident here. And if I'm absent from Blipfoto for a few days, it's because Phil and I are having some computer transition issues... change is never easy!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.