All Growed Up

This has been the wettest day so far in my 3 week idyll in Orkney, but as they say, the gardens needed it- not so much the tourists.


I had plans though to meet up with someone who had shared my table at the Kirkwall café in my first week up here, so a little rain was no deterrent.
A bus trip into the metropolis, a bus trip back, a Zoom call with the Kitchen Table gang at Maggies, an outing in the mist to buy a paper and a seat back at base with a glass of red wine listening to the fog horn of the ‘Hamnavoe’ as it rounds the Ness with its surroundings obliterated visually, and the day is slipping away very comfortably.

I have ignored the Orkney landscape today, cloaked as it is in a clinging mist, to add a blip of my granddaughter Imogen, who leaves school tomorrow, dressed for her school prom and seemingly on top of Arthur’s Seat. I couldn’t climb it in an evening dress!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.