Grey Heron

The young one was waiting for me this morning at the clearing. I started to feed her when the cob swan  came over. It immediately went for the young one who took off to her branch near the shore. I stood back a bit in the hope the swan would move off like they did yesterday. No such luck today. The cygnets and the pen came over to join it. The young one looked over in my direction then towards a clearing a little further up the loch. I wandered up to the other clearing and the young one flew over, much to the amazement of a couple who had been watching everything. I started to give her the rest of her fish as fast as I could as I could see the cob swimming over. He had another go at the young one who took off to her branch again (having had most of her fish anyway). I waited a while in the hope they would go but a family started to feed them so they were going nowhere fast. The young one eventually gave up and flew off to a wooded area in the middle of the loch. I started to make my way back as I passed the cob he started hissing at ME! I got to the bottom of the loch and saw the cob actively chasing something. I made my way back to make sure it wasn't the young one (not that I could do much) when I got closer I saw that it was chasing some goslings around the loch, the young one was safely up a tree watching it all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.