More than short back and sides!

Friday 2nd July 2021

Backblip

What a productive morning I had! Some tidying up, sorting and discarding paperwork, supermarket and garden centre shopping, mowing lawn, cutting back bushes ... all before 1pm. 

The other week I ordered a second council green bin for garden waste. I decided it was worth the extra fee. Today I managed to fill both green bins. I started off trimming a couple of bushes. Then I tackled the bush seen adjacent to the wall here. The tree beside it and this bush had both overtaken the patio and I had lost over half of it. The other week I chopped some of the lower branches off the tree. Today I started on the bush ... but I didn't stop. The problem was the branches had become so long and when I went to cut one I discovered it had wound its way all around and a large amount came off. Once I had started I also discovered a lot of dead wood in the middle. As you can see, the result was a very drastic cut back and reclamation of the patio. (I wish I had taken a "before" picture!) The bush is healthy, it will grow again, it needed it. It is a very vicious bush with lots of large spikes so it was quite a job and my arms are now well scratched! I have now completed one short side of the garden. My project over summer is to gradually work around the borders. I used to have a gardener but that stopped with COVID. I now have a lot of work to do!  

I have backblipped yesterday's anniversary

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.