Journies at home

By journiesathome

surf and turf

I woke up to this.
the holidays have started but I've made a pledge that these early mornings should not be frittered away.
I have the best possible intentions but knowing my entourage I'll end up burning the candle at both ends.
I leave for the hills late morning (fail) and realise that all I want to do is eat.  
I find almost ripe greengages then a tree of little plums that look like cherries.
The woods promise mushrooms but I can't identify them so leave them be. 
Bernie Sanders sniffs around donkey droppings and I crack my teeth on wheat kernels wondering what we can have for lunch.
We walk home downstream through the river to avoid meeting anyone on the bank.  Little shoals of fish run away from us and we make sure not to disturb the snakes.
Some days are almost perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.