Humbear

By Humbear

Reykjavik

We went downtown today to listen to people talking about Iceland´s new constitution. The current government wants to have it approved before the elections in April, but the opposition is blocking them all the way. After the talks had ended, the crowd went to the parliament building where the government was actually meeting on a Saturday afternoon, and banged on things and blew whistles to show their displeasure at the delaying tactics of the opposition. I was sorry I did not bring my South African vuvuzela, although that horrible shrill sound is not my favourite sound! We took a walk around the pond in central Reykjavik afterwards, most of it is frozen, and I even was brave enough to walk on it for a few steps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.