The 'Peilmolen', Oud Alblas

'Peilmolen' sounds like 'PILE-molen'.
'Oud' sounds like 'OWD' = 'old' = 'Old Alblas'
Obviously, there's a 'new Alblas' elsewhere.  The area is full of windmills, especially as the UNESCO World Heritage site Kinderdijk is nearby.  Not so surprisingly, there's also a lot of water, and many, many polders.
The windmill is at 'long rest' position.

Discouraging weather, but I wanted to get some fresh air and a change of scene.

I have started reading the book De Bourgondiers ('Boor-GON-diyers'), The Burgundians, some 600 pages of the colourful history of the Low Countries, including the various forces that led to its political formation as well as the adventures, humour, lifestyles, idiosyncrasies, and lasting impact of its rulers.  The book reminds me of the kind of material I used to read as a child, when I became fascinated by the fact that the kings and queens and castles in the fairy tales existed in real life, as did (and still do) the countries where they lived.  I didn't start to love Europe only after I got married.  When I said 'Yes' to AW, I also said it to the entire continent, and its history still intrigues and beguiles me to this day.  Because it's in Dutch, I will be reading it at a slower pace, savouring the language, learning new expressions, appreciating more of the culture of this place I now call home.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.