Nicktor's news

By Nicktor

The Petersfield Book Shop

PBS is a little bit like Auntie Wainwright's shop in Last of the Summer Wine, in that it is impossible not to leave without something tucked under your arm.  DawnAgain once banned me from entering unsupervised after I purchased a rather splendid 140 year old leather bound ten volume set of encyclopaedias.  It didn't take long once I got home for me to realise she hadn't shared my enthusiasm for them!  So - a supervised visit this time, but I was very pleased with my purchases nonetheless.  I had to buy the two VC books as they reminded me so much of my late father.  He had a huge collection of books (and pretty much everyone written about the VC).  Every book he ever owned seemed to have a large number of relevant paper cuttings within, and the previous owner of these had done exactly the same.

The third is of the English Civil War, a particularly interesting era for me as one of my ancestors, Colonel Sir John was a prominent Royalist who was knighted when he saved the Kings life with a decisive cavalry charge.  Although I wonder if today we might say he 'prolonged' it.

Miss you Dad - you would have loved these!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.