Snip

After the mosquito screen guys had left and I’d walked down to get the car in the village and stood there dripping sweat until my go came around i returned after gathering in some shopping and I ate a bowl of pasta and slumbered in front of The Ventoux stage of the Tour de France as the sky outside boiled under what is fast becoming an African sun until at four o’clock the temperature peaked at 36.5C in these premature dog days of a seemingly permanently changed climate that I combat with my 300 metres of drip irrigation pipe, pump and 3000 litre capacity tanks and the mosquito screens and increasingly heretic thoughts on air conditioning and energy use because even in the evening as England made a meal of Denmark eventually and maybe with a little help from the ref on that penalty the temperature refused to budge below 25C leaving us and this entry breathless before the churning fans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.