JulesB

By JulesB

Look how clever I am!

After much uncertainty my daughter and I set off for Windsor with tickets to see Ian McKellen taking on the role of Hamlet. With the extension of Covid restrictions, which mean theatres have to continue with social distancing, many of the ticket holders had to accept new dates but suprisingly we were not in that group and new socially distanced tickets arrived! 
We broke our journey at Hanbury Hall for lunch and to stretch our legs. We watched a group of young Mallards negotiating the masses of Water Lilies and a very industrious Moorhen swimming backwards and forwards across the pond with grass for a nest which was very well hidden in the lilies. 
A super Italian meal at a chance find independent restaurant set us up well for the performance. I was pleased to find my first visit to the theatre in over 18 months felt safe and well organised. I know it can't go on but what a luxury not to have someone sat next to you and lots of room to stretch out!
I enjoyed the performance, but then it is one of my favourite plays and I've seen it many times. This wasn't the best, but good all the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.