Bibs

Last night’s Ruby Wedding in Burray was a hoot.  There was only 36 folk but the volume of banter was probably detected at Jodrell Bank.  Someone said to me it was the fact that so many folk hadn’t seen each other for so long.  85% of the audience was 70+, they didn’t ha’d back.  There was a preponderance of teachers – maybe that explains it.  Once again folk were slightly amazed I wasn’t a teacher; despite being an EIS Union Rep.

To calm down the Current Mrs Creel has gone across to Hoy today to cut the grass, change the sheets and visit her brother.  I was going too but the cloud level was way too low for the hills.  Instead I ventured into the foothills on the Orkney Mainland, around Swanbister Bay and up to the village.  The track was incredibly dusty, rainfall has been exceptionally low since February.  I then walked through the village and up past Loutit’s Cottage to the saddle.  The hills are tinder dry, what used to be burns are now mere trickles.  I only met two other folk.

Bibs shoved in a big shift today keeping the vole population under control.  She spends ages on the dyke, looking very innocent, then suddenly drops down into the flowers.  She thinks that Bill Board is underrated and likes an occasional small cigar.  Her ‘I hate Anthropomorphism’ t-shirt was in the wash.

You see – you are none the wiser.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.