momcat1

By momcat1

What to post....

Today was one of those rare days for me  when there were just too many options to pick from. It seemed to be a fairly quiet day - yesterdays redstart fledging didn't seem to be around, , the wren was keeping to the shadows , the bees I had spotted minutes earlier seemed to have taken off. I thought- go down and take a photo of mama Robin on her nest. Which I did, and immediately heard two redstarts eeping across the road along my neighbors's driveway. 15min later  I also had a few redstart photos. Shortly thereafter checked out the front flower bed again and the bees were back . So were some other bugs. SEEK identified them as a ligated furrow bee, a small carpenter bee and this one-a European wool carder bee. I thought it was a funky looking yellow jacket . there is a top view in extras as it is much fatter than it appears in this view. I also saw what was ID'd as a white margined burrower bug. I know there are a million insects plus around but I can't believe I've never noticed this stuff before! 
And we rescued a firefly which was in the house for some reason this AM. It was happily walking around a geranium outside the last time I saw it. 
I think I am going to save the birds for a back blip as I know it will be back blip or no photo during most of the week next week. 
And it was a busy day - met with the Andersen window guy to replace our deck doors which leaked again during a bad rainstorm. A needed upgrade but - ouch did they get expensive! I think this one door cost as much as my whole bank of windows did in our old sunroom . Of course that was 1997. And in fairness they had to be custom sized because the ones put in with this house are apparently an odd size. Oh well , if I have to work another month next year before I retire......or I could give up the idea of going to Hawaii in January...... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.