Nicktor's news

By Nicktor

Petersfield v Farnham

I don't normally get to too many pre-season friendlies as they tend to be quite boring.  However, having been bereft of football over the last few weeks, today seemed like a cracking opportunity to get my first game of the 2021/2022 season in and to catch up with my friend Fat Andy.  Sadly, Fat Andy is no more, having lost a couple of stone since he injured his back when he played golf with Chris and I a few weeks ago, and he looks like a shadow of his former self as he waits to go into hospital for an operation in the near future.  Poor chap.  

I guess one should reference the recent football tournament.  I think England did really well and we should be proud of the team.  However, the so called fans who ripped up various parts of our cities; who broke into the stadium without tickets and worst of all, who threw any kind of negative comment at the footballers who were had the bottle to step forward and take a penalty should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves.  I was embarrassed to be English by the abuse and the unbelievable racist comments which almost made me pleased that we lost.  It was just a shame that we lost to an Italian team who really did seem to take gamesmanship way over the acceptable line (a bit like Crawley when we used to play them in the Conference).

Fortunately, lower league football is a completely different game...

Oh - Farnham won 2-0!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.