2+3+1+1

By tpd

old faithful

We had a rare treat today: a Sunday when no-one had anything in particular to do. So, pancakes for breakfast, we cooked the HH/Egyptian bread (very nice it was too; a little chewy but otherwise...) then went to the pool. An hour in the pool splashing about and +3/3 was exhausted. A quick stop for a junk food lunch then back to the house to watch a film as the weather was mince.

About 3pm there was a break in the weather and I took the opportunity to go out on the bike into the forests behind the house. Not too cold but with a bit of slushy snow still lying as I got further up the hill. Nice to be out on my own as I don't get enough cycling in so usually end up falling off the back of whichever group I happen to be out with. A loop around Pitmedden gives you a great view over the Tay.

My bike is truly old faithful. I've had it for about 14 years and it's doing remarkably well. It's also super light. Rock Lobster frame, Judy SL forks, standard LX kit, Hope hubs and original minis, handbuilt wheels. It's had a couple of new blocks, chains and cables but otherwise it's all original. I think I trued the back wheel once and the nitride coating on the fork stanchions is getting a bit worn in places but otherwise it's totally solid. The geometry may be slightly old-fashioned now but it's a good cross country machine. Long may it last.

Better large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.