A Logging Truck

We've had bulldozers, earth movers, dump trucks, cherry pickers and cranes, chain saws, wood chippers, water trucks and fire engines in our neighborhood, but this is the first full fledged logging truck I have seen here. Los Alamos Road, which runs behind our house and uphill for 4 miles on a curvy, ever narrowing road with steep drop-offs on one side, ends at a regional park which has been closed since the fire. There were scattered houses plus a fairly populated rural street called Cougar Lane
 in the hills up there. We've been told that there are just a couple of houses left on Cougar Lane, just as there are very few left on Wildwood Mountain.

This picture was taken at the corner of Los Alamos Road and the Sonoma Highway. I was behind it at the signal and was so amazed to see it that I made myself and the lady behind me sit through an entire signal. I don't think she was very happy with me

We have not driven up Los Alamos Road since it was ground zero for the Glass  fire, and the logging truck is a good reason for our reluctance. I simply don't know what one would do if one met a truck like this on what amounts to a single track road.  It also gives a sense of the kind of logging of burned trees that is going on in steep watershed on Hood Mountain on heavily forested land that hasn't burned in a hundred years...until September 2020. It could have been these trees on fire  that we saw as we drove away from our house. With that view in the rear view mirror, I didn't think we would ever see our house again. We were incredibly lucky, and no matter how much one does to prepare, a stiff measure of luck is still required.

I don't know how many loads of logs we'll see rolling down the hill in the coming weeks. Los Alamos is certainly not the quiet country road it was when we bought this house, and I certainly never thought I'd see a logging truck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.