XSworld

By XSworld

Pyjama party..

..or it always looks as if the italian striped shield bug is having one! The past week I've seen them everywhere, but mainly on the umbel of apiaceae.

I've noticed that I call them shield bugs in nature, and I kind of like them, they tend to have nice patterns and are photogenic wherever they place themselves, but when I find them at home or at work I use their other name, stink bug, and pray to be able to get rid of them before they emit their horrible stink of rotten cucumber/cilantro. I know it's a defense mechanism, and I know that being a huge creature compared to the shield bugs I pose an immediate threat to it, but all I want to do is to move it safely outdoor!
In the extra I have added a collage to put together new photos with a photo I took last november which all show the italian striped shield bug on the umbel of apiacea. Do they maybe overwinter there?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.