campervan man

By campervan

Turning the clock back

Before the Covid bug struck I was a volunteer driver for a local Home Hospice, driving people to hospital, doctors, dentist and anywhere else they needed.  I was doing one or sometimes two trips a week, chatting to the passengers and getting to know them. I was providing a useful service for them but also it gave me a sense of worth, I was "giving something back".
As of March 2020 everything stopped, we were not allowed to take people in our cars because of the risk of infection to both driver and passenger. The rules are gradually being relaxed in England (possibly too quickly in view of the current infection levels) and the Hospice is getting ready to start offering lifts again. Because of this, basic training has to be revisited and today I received two training sessions, first aid and manual handling (now called something else). Meeting up with the other volunteers after so long was great, there was quite a lot of gossiping as well as training.
I did not start the work on the decking until late and it was not until this was finished that I realised no Blip had been done. Last minute effort but I am still pleased with the result

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.