After Midnight

That's the name of this poppy - it is much darker than this image with the sun shining through its petals.  The bees love it as much as I do.  

We took the dogs to swim off the old pier at Aros.  I got in as well, it was so lovely but short lived as spotted a jelly fish.  Jess had managed to soak my clothes and as I was struggling to put on a wet skirt I got bitten by a clegg (horsefly).  Not happy, it hasn't been a great couple of weeks on the bites front.  I'd got over the midge bite on my foot that turned manky some weeks back, then I was bitten by is some sort of spider on my upper arm (must have got into my sleeve) - it was horrendously itchy and swollen.  This was just before going away.  Yesterday it was what I think was tick on my calf, again gone quite manky (but no halo and J the chemist thought it was probably just a bit infected rather than Lymes).  And now the clegg.  Am on two different sorts of antihistamine, steroid cream and have some iodine soaked gauze which works miracles on infected bites though turns everything orange.  Also, today I spotted what looks like a botfly in the polytunnel so am now very wary when in the tunnel or outside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.