RSPB Burton Mere Wetlands

All the Covid restrictions have meant that I haven't done any volunteer driving for more than 12 months and I'm not sure if or when it will start up again. As a replacement I put my name forward as a volunteer at RSPB Burton Marshes and I went along for a trial shift today to see what it was like.

There was a lot to take in and it was quite busy because of the school holidays. I was thrown in pretty much straightaway and seemed to cope so I will give it a go.

A long-billed dowitcher had been spotted yesterday which attracted a lot of keen birders. It was in the middle of some black tailed godwits and the only reason I knew it was there because it was slightly smaller. There was no way I would have been able to identify it on my own and I couldn't make out any detail at all. Technically speaking it is in this photo as a small dot in the distance. This is intended as a quick snap to record the day. 


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lands End to John O'Groats 1000 Mile Virtual Challenge Update

Day 168  -  Scottish Borders.  0 miles walked. 682.2 miles
completed

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.