Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

George.

This is my Granpa, my mum's dad, looking very glamorous indeed!

He was in Navy during the war and we reckon this was taken just after he'd joined up in 1939. Mum and I were looking through an old suitcase of his today that was neatly packed with all sorts of Navy memorabilia, photographs from his travels and some great postcards and bit's and pieces from when they were based in New York at the end of the War. Vintage heaven for me, I'll definitely be blipping some soon :)

I absolutely adored my Granpa and have amazing memories of him although very very sadly not as many as I would have wished for. He unfortunately died from Alzheimer's when I was only 9, it was devastating and confusing especially as we'd already lost him, the Alzheimer's was very aggressive and he wasn't himself anymore. My last memory of him is terribly sad, he was in a nursing home and we'd all gone to visit - my Gran, Mum, Dad, me, Claire and Clark, my Aunt Anne and her two boys - and he didn't know anyone. Then suddenly it was like he had a moment of clarity and recognised me, I sat on the arm of his chair and he told me he remembered a moment when I was 2 years old and we were walking hand in hand along the beach on a family holiday in Arran, I looked up at him and said something like "It's a lovely day today isn't it Granpa?".
Beautiful.

When I was wee he was my most favourite person in the world (even more than my lovely cousin Fiona who'd take me for walks around Cramond and buy me tablet! ;) I remember him as being incredibly funny, always pulling faces and telling jokes, always happy to play with us and talk to us. I vividly remember him teaching me how to write my name. I was the first grandchild so maybe a wee bit indulged too!
I wish I'd known him longer. He was a lovely man x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.