Experimenting With Gooseberries

I started dealing with the gooseberries we picked the other day, and,  unsure how many the family would like, decided to try gooseberry curd. It's not something I have made before so didn't know what to expect.

The recipe uses 2lb 2oz  of them cooked in 2 fl oz water and sieved then 2 oz butter, 1 lb sugar and 3 eggs added and cooked. I used the microwave as I do when making lemon curd but this seemed to take forever even with that, refusing to thicken sufficiently. Eventually I allowed the mixture to cool a little, added another 1 oz butter and another egg and this time it did thicken. 

Another recipe specified 'young green gooseberries' so I think that, being fully ripe, my fruit gave more juice than the recipe expected and the resulting puree more liquid, but the flavour is wonderful.

This recipe yield about 2 lb, it filled these jars and left not a scrap for sampling except on the utensils themselves. I'm not proud, I don't mind licking the spoon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.