Eliza Ann

I think I might have blipped this sampler before when I went, a while back now, to an exhibition of such samplers in Edinburgh - I am now seeing it a little differently. 

Eliza Ann was my great, great grandmother and today I came across this photograph, which one of her descendants sent me, because I am currently continuing the task of sorting all my family history research. The sampler is a lovely piece of work done in tiny stitches, it must have taken many hours to complete. It is interesting seeing this in the light of my own return to stitching - no way could I do anything like this. 

However . . . 

. . . a short while later I was filing some documents and came across her marriage certificate and noticed to my horror that she did not sign it, but marked it with 'her cross'. I suddenly realised that she probably could not read and write. So at the age of 13 it is likely that she was stitching some meaningless symbols - she could copy her name and stitch it, but could not write it. Incredible to think of this.

It was obviously thought better for a girl to be able to sew than to read and write. The question is - what were the boys doing whilst the girls were sitting quietly sewing - for hours on end?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.