tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Roaring

F and H give my father's bull roarers a whirl. 

These archaic noise-makers, consisting of a flat wooden slat on a twisted cord, have been found on every continent of the world and as far back in time as the Paleolithic  in what is now Ukraine (where my father was born) as well in ancient Greece.

Extras because I couldnt decide...

Bullroarers are used by holding the string in one hand and vigorously whirling the piece of wood as it spins.  As it moves through the air, it creates a low pitched vibrato sound capable of traveling long distances.  For this reason their  use in rituals or for long-distance communication has been recorded the world over, although they have come to be mostly associated with indigenous Australian culture. 


A bull roarer can be heard in Kate Bush's song TheDreaming.


I don't know the provenance of my father's bull roarers (he might even have made them) but the low growling sound is takes me straight back to my childhood when he would occasionally take one out and produce its unmistakable, spine-chilling growling roar.


Wikipedia

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.