On

Right, quick bit of tape stuff and then I'm off.

I've looked at a few of these old mix tapes of mine and I'm really surprised, knowing what I'm like, that I haven't removed the little tabs on the top, those little tabs that once removed mean you can never record over your music by mistake and your tunes will in theory at least, be preserved for an eternity. I can't believe I've been so slack over the last thirty years as to leave those tabs in place. I've a good mind to go through the pile and remove them all now, except that would be ridiculous. And anyway, even if I did remove the tabs someone could always break in and then put bits of sellotape over them or fill up the holes with scrunched up paper and get round it that way, I know how their minds work. Or at least they could if there was actually a working cassette player in the house. Phew, I reckon they'll be fine.

Today's tape from the cupboard is this one

BLOWING THE STARS FROM THE SKY

SIDE A

Lemonheads - Rockin' Stroll
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Straight To You
Pixies - Subbacultcha
Jesus And Mary Chain - Far Gone And Out
Hole - Teenage Whore
Nirvana - Dumb
Babes In Toyland - Blood
Throwing Muses - Ride Into The Sun
Pavement - So Stark (You're A Skyscraper)
Belly - Dusted
Sugar - Needle Hits E
The Go-Betweens - Right Here
Dinosaur Jr - Lotta Love
The Fall - Immortality
The Doors - Indian Summer
Lemonheads - Bit Part


SIDE B

Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds - John Finn's Wife
Pixies - U-Mass
Babes In Toyland - Mother
Nirvana - Drain
Hole - Violet
The Go-Betweens - The Ghost & The Black Hat
Superchunk - Tower
Pavement - Summer Babe (Winter Vision)
Throwing Muses - Downtown
The Track That Title Comes From
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Jack The Ripper
Husker Du - 59 Times The Pain
Hole - Doll Parts
Lemonheads - The Turnpike Down

(July 1992)



[The First Rule Of Tape Club Is...]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.