Droopydrawers

By Droopydrawers

It's along way...

Well today's walk took on a more military flavour than expected. The sculpture commemorates the thousands of soldiers who travelled up and down the light railway at Longmoor in preparation for D Day.
So far, so good. Having taken a wrong turn at the top of Liss Forest I realised eventually that I wasn't where I thought I was. Skirting the Longmoor military training area it was obvious there were manoeuvres going on from all the yelling so Poppy and I made sure we obeyed all the scary notices and didn't stray from the permissive path. We'd somehow got stuck behind the perimeter fence by the A3 and were lucky that someone official came along in time to open a gate and let us out.
We finally made it to Greatham village after a very long and hot detour and had a cup of tea by the church before sending an SOS for a lift back to where I'd parked the car.
I'm pretty sure I'd never have been accepted into the army simply on the strength of my map-reading!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.