Play Dates

My Dear Princess and Dear Friends,

Here was the original plan:

Tiger, Joshua and me were due to go and see "The Suicide Squad" at the cinema, then Joshua was to come back with me to the house for dinner and to watch the film "Nobody". A big bloody action film, that I knew we would all love from the trailer alone.

And I thought I'd invite Shenée and Craig as well. They also like dinner. They also like extreme violence. What could go wrong with this plan?

Well. Craig could go to Whanganui. Which meant that Shenée needed to get a ride with Joshua, who was theoretically coming up four hours before Shenée had previously been due to arrive. 

But could Shenée even get a ride from Joshua? 

My geographical knowledge and knowledge of roads is terrible. As you all know. I asked Shenée if her place was en route from Joshua's.

She sent me the map you see in today's blip. Oh all right. Bloody sarcasm.

But because she was arriving early, this also meant that I dropped out of the film. So the boys went together. I also asked Tiger if he fancied coming over after the film, but he explained he was still in recovery from something called "Beervana" and therefore he would be going straight to his bed after "The Suicide Squad". 

I had a lovely afternoon with Shenée, we had lunch at the mall and looked at shops. "It feels like I'm on a play date," said Shenée. It is true. We have the same silly sense of humour when we are together and the same incredibly tolerant partners. 

And afterward, my second part of the plan fell into place perfectly. We reconvened at the house where everyone enjoyed dinner and everyone loved the movie. 

"It makes me want to go into the office on Monday AND F*** PEOPLE UP," said Shenée.

I wasn't sure whether to hand her a knife to cut the cheesecake or not. 

Fortunately it was around this time that Craig returned to retrieve his hyped-up girlfriend. 

But that was a wholly successful evening I thought. And as I have mentioned before, Shenée is effusive. 

"I'm so happy. This is nice. I'm really happy," she kept saying. 

Despite what I have said about Shenée's outer display of confidence, I have learned there are very few people she feels truly comfortable around. 

She tells me people have been cruel to her in the past. She protects herself these days by surrounding herself with animals and sticking with Craig, allowing only very few people in. I feel privileged to be one of those people.  

"It feels so nice being here," said Shenée. "I feel really comfortable and nice and warm and happy. It feels like home."

That was just about the biggest compliment she could pay. And I too, felt warm inside. I'm delighted that she feels part of our improvised family. 

And besides, every day in her company IS like a play date. Even the ones at work.

S.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.