sjb

By sjb

Aird Uig

At Gallan Head, Lewis. This used to be a MOD listening post during the Cold War- to spy on the Russians. It was then abandoned in the 60's and recently the MOD has agreed to sell off the land to the Uig Community Trust, and also the houses. They were concrete in construction and flat roofed, but with a lot of insulation and a new roof make for spacious and relatively cheap housing. A new community has sprung up, complete with community cafe and arts centre.

This marked the end of our ride, which for me was just as well as my bike had well and truly broken by the time we arrived here. (The bottom bracket had gone, to be technical about it.) The local bus service came to my rescue and transported me and my bike to Stornoway, where we were due to catch the ferry to Ullapool and begin our journey home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.