A precious scrap of paper

This scrap of paper symbolises to me true friendship.
Yesterday I had to be out all day - another friend needed my help - and the dogs would be left at home. For many years my friend has looked after the dogs if I am out for a long time - calling round to let them out at intervals, in the past she would also take them for a walk, on occasion she has moved in - when I was suddenly hospitalised some years ago she was round here prepared to stay even before the ambulance arrived!
Now we are both older I no longer go out all day - especially during the last 18 months - and she is less active, finding walking more difficult but also now having problems with her sight - night vision is difficult, and reading virtually impossible even with larger print documents and a magnifying glass.
Now, yesterday :- I asked her to pop round and let the dogs out at lunchtime as I was not expecting to be home until about 6pm. Unfortunately the situation changed and I had to stay at my other friend’s overnight. I phoned and asked if she could possibly go round in the evening (necessarily before it got dark or she wouldn’t be able to see) and let them out again - I expected to be home by 6am. She immediately said ‘what about their dinners?’ I had not intended to ask her to do the dinners knowing she could not see so well - they wouldn’t starve for the sake of a few more hours. But she wanted to help. Fortunately the dinners are ready measured out for the evening when I do the morning feed. But each dog has a different amount, of course.  I told her where to find the tubs of food, which was which and which bowls to use. I emphasised it wouldn’t matter if they got the wrong one but she said she would write it down.  With the phone in one hand she wrote down the instructions I gave. This is her note - I was able to read it at once - after all, I dictated it - but I am sure no-one else would make any sense of it. Only late in the evening did I realise I hadn’t mentioned water - but it was OK - she remembered they have warm water on the kibble and also refilled their water bowls. They were perfectly OK when I got home - but ‘relieved’ to get outside for a ‘wee’!. She was the first friend I made when I moved here over 40 years ago and is always willing to help anyone in need of it. True friends are worth more than money!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.