Red admiral pupae

I went for a quick trip to my local woods this morning and I was really pleased to find they have not cut down any of the vegetation, This meant the nettles were about 5 feet tall and full of life. 
A quick search revealed 3 of these wonderful Red admiral pupae, 2 comma pupae and a larva about to pupate and another pupa in a hairy cocoon presumably belonging to a species of moth.
Given that they usually cut the nettles down I decided to 'rescue' all the pupae ( I will go back for the pupating larva in a day or two) and bring them home to the safety of my emergence cage.
I carefully cut away the leafy tent around this Red Admiral to expose the pupa, beautifully flecked with gold inside. As I did so it reminded me of the sarcophagus of an Egyptian Pharaoh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.