My take

By ianpiper

Noble fool

I had briefly to visit Stratford Hospital this morning so thought I'd take a walk through the town, maybe have a casual coffee at one of the street cafés and get some canal pictures. Big mistake. who'd have predicted that 10 million tourists would invade on Bank Holiday Monday?
Stopping for a casual coffee was out of the question - actually, walking in a straight line in the street for more than a few feet was virtually infeasible - and the normally green open space leading down to the waterfront is currently a tented town of chip and burger vendors, with the predictable effect on crowds. I have no problem with commerce or sensible tourism, but Stratford is really tacky in places now. I admitted defeat and got out of town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.