Yedameister

By Yeda

Happy Earth Day

We stopped at the Dansko Headquarters to buy a pair of shoes today. I'm very impressed with this company as they have a great policy of sustainability; softening their impact on our planet. They opened a new building in October 2008 that utilizes many efficient and beautiful construction and design methods to stay true to their mission.

This bronze mermaid greets us at the entry. I can really relate to her ...if at all I can feel chilled just looking at her in the cold breeze. I am happy to be back and settling in, but can't fully close the chapter on the last three years of our life down under. In a way, I feel like I became a kiwi! I acclimated to the weather (which was not always easy), became a beach bum, a mountaineer (okay, an avid hiker), & made some fantastic friends that I will always hold dear to my heart. My children brought back the kiwi accents, more than half their lifetime of memories, and a particular taste for sausage sizzles, fish and chips, & lemon and barley cordial.

Happy to be here, but missing the other side, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.