Mama, Life Has Just Begun

My Dear Princess and Dear Friends,

Today's picture looks like a pencil sketch of Punky. In fact, it is just a badly focused phone camera. Oh well. 

So I expect you are all wondering what happened Caro-wise yesterday. Well, first of all, I should tell you that she is HAPPY right now. In fact, she is singing....

Mama, just killed a man,
Put a gun against his head,
Pulled my trigger, now he's dead...

Well, all right, perhaps not the happiest lyric, but honestly she is a little songbird. This should tell you how yesterday evening and today went. 

Long story short, Manger #1 was sufficiently shocked by Caro's news.

"I'm not shocked," she said. 

Eff's sake. 

It turns out that Manager #1 saw this coming due to the stress and disappointment of Caro's year. She was very sympathetic and also very receptive to Caro's idea of doing Deke's job in a part-time capacity.

"I need to speak to Manager #2," she said. 

So Manager #2 spoke to Caro this morning. He was also very sympathetic and very interested in Caro taking on this role. 

This is significant because his WIFE heads up the department Caro would be working for. I should tell you that Mrs. Manager #2 LOVES Caro, so she is VERY happy with the prospect of Caro working with her. 

"I just need to work out the financials," said Manager #2, promising to come back to Caro before the end of the week with details on salary. 

So essentially, it's a done deal. Unless they come back with some insulting offer, Caro is going to take the role. And I think they value Caro enough that the offer will not be insulting. They said lots of nice things about Caro, about how she's an essential part of the company and how they would be stupid to let her go. 

Basically, all the stuff she's needed to hear. And all the things that make her sing inside. 

"I'm not going to work tonight, I'm going to watch telly and do online shopping," she said. 

So although, "negotiations are ongoing" as Caro puts it, everything looks good. Caro is already starting to plan what she's going to do with all this free time she's shortly going to have. 

As for me, I'm very happy. This year, Caro and I will both be able to push the toad work off our lives. Hopefully we can keep it off. 

S.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.