Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

What are you little fellow?

Feeling very old today, so I need some help please. 

I know, it’s getting boring! Beneath the piece of stoneware is a gaggle of bumblers, feeding and keeping warm. The large creature joined the party, but what is it. The rose is “Blue for You.”

Black hairy thorax, yellow face and a single pair of wings would indicate a Hornet Mimic Hoverfly, spotted by HCB yesterday but I cannot find it online. It doesn’t appear too aggressive as it pushed and pulled with the smallest bumbler in the pack and even allowed me to nudge it about. Any help identifying it would be appreciated. (If it’s a horsefly I shall……….well I shall)

The silhouette is the stranger dressing for dinner; too much Downton methinks.
Identified by Caroline Jay and Mum of 4 Wildthings as Tachina grossa, the largest of European flies. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.