Cygnus

By Cygnus

Glenarm harbour

We were very glad to see this harbour entrance last night. I got up today after 9am and the Ards Man had prepared freshly baked rolls and bacon! I collapsed back in my bunk afterwards and slept until after noon. I was more tired after our long passage yesterday than I’d anticipated.

Today we had a walk along the Main Street in Glenarm and it is a really beautiful Georgian village. I’d forgotten how lovely it is. Only one shop, two pubs and a coffee shop that was not open after 3pm. We walked on up to Glenarm Forest but decided not to do that walk, instead turning back towards the sea and Glenarm Castle estate. The Milk Parlour sold the most delicious ice cream, so that was our treat.

Now back at the boat and the forecast windy, wet conditions haven’t materialised. Hoping to complete our journey home tomorrow.

PS Steensons, the goldsmiths/silversmiths in the village, made all the jewellery for Game of Thrones! I think they do brisk business selling copies of various items.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.