madowoi

By madowoi

Valley Peak

may the tide
that is entering even now
the lip of our understanding
carry you out
beyond the face of fear
may you kiss
the wind then turn from it
certain that it will
love your back     may you
open your eyes to water
water waving forever
and may you in your innocence
sail through this to that

blessing the boats, by Lucille Clifton


Am quite pleased to have motivated for a morning hike. It will make is easier to put in a little work tomorrow. 

Wasn't sure  were I wanted to go, but on the way realized some of the cliff trails must be open again now that fall is basically here. Unlike the Precipice or Jordan Cliffs Trail, Valley Peak is not a very steep hike. It's close to home too, so it's nice to have it accessible again. The extra is one of those neat sections of trail I always make a point to stop at and rest awhile. There used to be a letterbox back in a little cave hidden behind that big white pine, but I didn't scramble back there today to see if it's still there. I think I'll wait for the cold to kill a few more insects before I do that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.