The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Martian Museum of iPods

While I was in bed with a headache and general weariness, the Martians visited and sprinkled interplanetary dust on my collection of 21st-century iPods. Obviously they felt they were too aged and infirm for their research purposes, so they left them behind. For which I was grateful.

From L to R:

Original iPod shuffle, (2005) 1Mb, in white plastic with snazzy white lanyard. Part of the casing snaps off to reveal a USB connector. Lent it to a friend to take around the world, and it was returned with a totally defunct battery. "It doesn't seem to work anymore".

iPod nano 2nd generation, (2006?) bought 2007, black, 8Mb. About to enter retirement as sticky clickwheel and reduced battery life are making everyday use problematic. Will be presented with a gold watch on retirement, for well over 5 years of active service.

iPod nano 5th generation, year of production unknown, bought 2013 on ebay for a song. Blue, 16 MB. With pedometer, FM radio, and video camera (truly awful colour repro). Does not work in existing speaker docks. Will facilitate my continued enjoyment of listening to audiobooks, from authors Anthony Trollope and Thomas Hardy to Joanna Trollope and Benjamin Zephaniah.

(When I said that I didn't give a toss about brands, I was obviously lying through my teeth! I don't wear Superdry or eat at Jamie's, but give me a shiny glass & metal object and I'll start to drool...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.