Worcester.

I went to Worcester hoping to find some of the brightly coloured elephants( models thereof) which have been in the city through the summer but they have all gone. I did however find myself by the Commandery . An 800 year old building which has served lots of purposes over the years but is most notable for its use as the Royalist headquarters during the Battle of Worcester in 1651. I wasn’t intending to go there but spotted the sculpture of helmets and pike staffs on the bridge opposite. 

A commemorative stone on the bridge bears the inscription 

The last battle of the Civil War was fought at Worcester on 3rd September 1651
“ It is for aught I know a crowning mercy” 
Oliver Cromwell
Near this spot in the City Wall stood the Sidbury  Gate, which was stormed by the Parliamentarian Troops

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.