Not St.Medana’s Well (2)

I was sure it was but I don’t think it is.
I’m on a holy well high.
My St.Medana odyssey weekend had me returning to Monreith to try to find St.Medana’s well again after my disappointment when I arrived on Friday.
Yesterday’s success had me buzzing so when I came back today at low tide I scoured the shoreline, the rocks and the cliff line.
I was about to give up when I suddenly found this. After yesterday’s dunking well I was utterly convinced this must be the same and another corker with lovely smooth rocks.
Of course, I had to jump in. It was deeper than me so I made sure I was going to be able to get out again! Luckily I only saw the two crabs (the Scottish version of holy fish, I thought) after I got out.
However, I’ve done more research now and it probably isn’t the actual well. I gather it’s a rather less prepossessing natural spring further along that I must have walked past on my way to here.
Anyway, this was so wonderful I think it should be! Even from a few feet away on the beach you’d have no idea it was here (extra).
The whole area has the most wonderful geology.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.