Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Our roots

Thirteen years ago when our house was built I/we decided that the flat bit of grass was not going to happen. So while the JCB was on site we got Robbie, the driver, to landscape a bit for us. Then I built retaining walls in timber which are now being rebuilt, properly in rustic stone. :-)

Before "borrowing" many tons of topsoil to make the raised flower beds I first went around the building site removing bricks and odd bits of rubble to assist with drainage. Polystyrene is light and makes good drainage, (hint if you use loads of pots on your patio) I never thought I'd see any of it again but here it is. The roots of whatever plant it lay near have gone through the polystyrene and exited the other side. That must have taken some very gentle but powerful pushing to achieve.

Maybe there is a resolution to the Israeli/Palestinian situation, it may just need polystyrene and pressure.

In other news........
Having finished our fence under the tutelage of Mr JazzyB I went to bed at 8pm and woke at 10am, this may be a record. Definitely wrecked, smiling, aching but wrecked.
Viking Funerals aren't what they used to be. No piss up, no maidens weeping, no floating into the sunset just lapsing into the arms of Morpheus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.