Wrong gender

I was checking out what I needed to replace the taps on the kitchen sink. The tails supplied with the new tap unit came with these ends, which is what you would normally have on the end of the supply pipe, not on the tap side. I checked out several websites to see if I could get the correctly gendered tails, which I couldn't in the correct size for the tap end, so instead I had to go looking for the hen's teeth that are the fittings for a pipe that would correctly mate with these. Fortunately, I did find some.

I was left wondering though why we still use 1/2" BSP fittings as the standard, surely it's time for these to go metric.

A lot of catching up to do with uploading blips, I have limited my time on computers to essential stuff while I get through a load of jobs around the house and generally prepare for my op on 14th September.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.