Diary of a Homeowner

By JennyWrenny

Composting Choices

There was a time when Aliellerb and I would spend our Sundays recovering from a hard night's drinking and clubbing the night before. This may, at times, have involved being sick, having to phone her husband for assistance, and several instances of us thinking our singing abilities were actually as good as Carole King and Carly Simon. For all of these, we are truly sorry Mr Ellerb ;-)

These days though, you are more likely to find us in the Garden Centre (where Carole King happened to be playing over the tannoy today as we shopped!). Before going, I warned Ali there was a risk of me agonising too much over which compost to buy. We spotted a few bags outdoors, but the biting wind almost caused my fingers to drop off before I'd even began to make my decision, so we turned our much-too-small trolley round and headed off to find some bags of compost that were stored in a warmer place in the garden centre...which was when we came across these.

The funniest bit of our trip out though was when we loaded our 200 litres of compost into the Fiat 500 I have rented for a few days and Ali actually thought the car was going to pitch backwards. Luckily she fell for my theory that in this wind, the only thing the compost was doing was weighing the car down :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.