It's A Minute To Midnight

By Draco

Net Winged Beetle

Lycidae.
A trip to Somerset to see PaulaK. We went out to a National Trust Property called Nightshayes. Didn't photograph the house but we went into the Kitchen Garden, only to be in there a couple of hours. I didn't have a flash/ringflash or any source of lighting with me and it was alive with the most beautiful insects going! Bugger!!!
So the Laowa lens came out for Paula and myself, and although being a beautiful lens with 0 CA on it, it was a struggle for me to get my beloved macro without lights. Its also a manual focus lens and it was late afternoon with fading light. 
We both ended up rocketing up the ISO to an average of 2,000 sometimes a lot more! All hand held.  ( Ive got Paua into my way of thinking which is minus the tripod! ;-))
I took over 400 shots of some magnificent bugs and a lot I've never seen before.
For example I thouht this was a Cardinal Beetle but it is in fact a beetle Ive never seen before called a Net Winged Beetle. Paula got a couple of shots and as I went to photograph it I could see it was about to fly off so I rattled off a few on continuous shoot mode and I got this! I am rather chuffed. Paula was jealous and called it the shot of the day.
Extras are the Beetle with wings folded and a stunning Nursery Web Spider. We both called it the teddy bear of spiders as its so furry. We spent ages around this beauty and despite having mega high ISO its not too bad.

Extras -------------------------------------------------->>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Draco 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.