One Step at a Time

By thepoacher

Retro Levers

So far this year, I have planned shots in advance or had theme weeks or simply tripped over pic of the day or taken something late in the day in desperation. Today is the first time though that an idea has simply popped into my head. I'd call it a voice but that would be just wierd. I have no explanation whatsoever as to why this entered by head. For the record then, these are Shimano 105 downtube gear shifters circa 1992 and still in regular use. By the early 90's Shimano had perfected gear indexing but I use these in 'friction' mode and feel my way. Even 20 years ago, this type of shifter was rapidly being replaced by shifters on or behind the brake levers so they're a rare sight now. The bike they're mounted on was built by me in 1987, based around a Reynolds 531 Raleigh frame and has covered many thousands of miles including an 'End-to -End' (John 'o' Groats to Lands End) in 2007 when it was ridden by my son with me on the 'new' bike I had built in 1994. Some will call me a tight wad, but think I just struggle to get rid of things that still work - see Day 19 for further evidence. And yes, that is damn snow in the background

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.