Lala's Journal

By Lala

Imperfect…..

….day! It took us two hours to make what should have been a one hour journey to Herne Bay for the Titanic exhibition. Closed roads, roadworks, malfunctioning satnav   and a long search for a parking space. As Mr L got more and more stressed, I found that these things didn’t bother me so much any more! Out of my control and what did it really matter if we were late?! 

We did get there, and the exhibition, whilst quite interesting was not what we had expected. A lot of it was based around the film, and most of the exhibits were from other ships. As we arrived we were given a card with the name and short bio of one of the people on board. Mr L got a post master, one of the crew, and I got a second class passenger. At the end there was a huge board with all the names of those on board and you could find your person to see if they survived or perished. My character had survived, and when I got home I googled her and read a lot more. What a traumatic life she had led prior to the disaster, but her descriptive writing of the sinking of the Titanic, in letters to her parents was fascinating. Her name was Elizabeth (my middle name) and she was born and raised in Folkestone, just a few miles from where we live now. It’s a small world. 

We stopped for something to eat on the way home, but the restaurant was suffering from supply problems and half of the menu was not available and no beer or cider either! We didn’t bother! 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.