Strawberries

Today's the day ....................... for perfect imperfection

I bought some strawberries in the supermarket today - in fact, I bought four punnets because they were very cheap at £1 each.  The label on them said that they were ' . . . . perfectly imperfect strawberries - wonky but wonderful.  A little smaller or misshapen, but just as sweet and juicy'.

And that description made me smile a bit.  Presumably they were comparing them with the enormous, watery, tasteless fruit that they usually sell at more than double the price?  Who told them that this was what people want - or have we all just been brain-washed into thinking that big strawberries are best?!

Anyway, it's a win-win situation as far as I'm concerned.  I get my small, bursting with flavour but imperfect strawberries (grown on Littywood Farm in Staffordshire) for a very good price.  And I've just made five pots of strawberry jam with them which should keep us going for a while .....................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.