Ateu

Instead of the typical theme of office administration processes, I had a dream that actually related to conservation work itself. I dreamt of undertaking some scoping work on the dugong population along the Mozambican coast. The result revealed a major hotspot and a viable number of them, which sadly may not be true in real life. However it was a hopeful note on which to wake.

Despite deadlines and workload, I feel the Portuguese lessons are important to treat as sacrosanct in the diary. They’re important for work and general life here. Ilídio and I often debate issues about society and values. Today I was learning the phrase ‘Deus queira que…’ (best translated as God willing). In the subsequent discussion Ilídio and I reached a common understanding that although countries where fewer people attend a religious institution or where more self-label as atheist, they are not necessarily populated by immoral heathens, as may be the default view here. It’s perfectly possible for atheists to possess wonderful values, or horrendously selfish ones. Likewise religious folk can be the kindest souls you could find, or they can be as corruptible as everyone else, such as the case of a Mozambican priest Ilídio told me about. He used his garb to deliberately avoid scrutiny at Mozambique’s borders with Swaziland and South Africa, whilst he smuggled stolen cars through as part of some racket. We are all flawed in a multitude of ways, big and small, irrespective of our relationship with religion.

I videoed with Michelle as she roamed around the compound we rent in Yambio, South Sudan. Good improvements since I was last there in 2018, not least with an internet connection, and now a small team making good strides with our projects. It was good to see a few smiling faces, and it gave me a boost as I unfortunately worked all evening.

I got a glimpse of the Casa de Ferro (Iron House) during a quick lunchtime walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.