Return to the North

By Viking

Look up, look down, look through to the other side

Wednesday is my day off so today I headed off to Lincoln to catch up with my niece and brother-in-law. Lincoln is where it all began. I went to teacher training college there. I met Deborah, my future sister-in-law, Paul, her then boyfriend and her brother, who I later married. It was also where I found my passion for teaching by having inspirational lecturers. John Pryor (bottom middle shot) was one of those who inspired, he was a delightful, knowledgeable and kind man, so it seemed fitting that I saw his stone in the cloisters.It pays to look down where you are going!
Paul and Deborah have long since split and I have even longer been split from my ex but I have remained friends with both. That said I haven’t seen Paul since my return to the UK so I was ecstatic to find that he was accompanying my niece up for the catch up. We had a lovely, lovely catch up and caught up on at least 5 years worth of news.
Looking up ; see the beauty above, the intricacies of such an amazing building are often not seen or appreciated..

Look through: to the other side. My niece through the cloisters, contemplative in the sunshine.

The other side; both Paul and I have struggled with our mental health over the last few years but both of us are through to the other side, because of love and support of those around us. Today I gave thanks in a building built by Man for the glory of God.

Have put a few in extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.