Succulent Garden

We made it to the delightful Cottage Garden nursery, and Dana came with us. Not only did we find the right succulents and grasses to complete her still life with pots, but they were having a sale and everything was 30% off. Cottage Garden has always been famous for their succulents, but they have really outdone themselves right now with wonderfully planted pots and planting beds everywhere. If we decide to replace our backyard fountain with a tree (we're desperate for some shade) I would love to be able to transplant this whole display, complete with olive tree right into our garden. It would fit in perfectly with what we already have there. Although we have a fairly big lot, our actual garden space that is level with the house is not huge. However we've turned off the fountain and  are not likely to plant something like a tree until we see if the water situation eases.

Dana planted our purchases and I was going to blip the results today, but by the time I went out to take a picture it was half in sun and half in shade. I'll do it tomorrow.

It has been quite cool and foggy here the last few mornings. Ordinarily I would hate that, but just before the first anniversary of the fire  the cool fog is quite welcome. And unlike in Berkeley which often never cleared at all, and sometimes cleared at 2pm only to roll back in at 4, the sun came out while we were at the nursery and it's been a lovely day in the garden.
today.

I read a column by Leonard Pitts Jr (Miami Herald) who addressed his words to those who are angry about the fact that government is taking away their right to choose not to get vaccinated by making it mandatory in order to keep their jobs. He finishes by saying,
 "So if you're angry, Guess what? You're not the only ones.The difference is, your anger is dumb and ours is not....Yours is about being coerced to do something you don't want to do. But the rest of us, we're mad at you. Because this thing could have been over by now, and you're the reason it isn't."

Having read that column, I am over being angry. I just feel that the anger I felt has been validated, but I won't rant about it anymore. I promise. In the end, we are all in control of our own moods and our own behavior, and that includes me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.