Perception

This is a partial shot of a single wave forming on a calm evening.

The RAW image was well exposed

Edited with four different setting values

Still the same wave.

Not really sure where I’m going with this (!) but it struck me that social media is quite similar.

It’s become so easy to edit life that it can be hard to tell what is real and fake, true and false.

I use Instagram, although I recently started over to focus solely on quality images, mainly landscape and wildlife.

I have a Facebook profile which I rarely update any more.

This week I started a Twitter account, again solely for photography.

Yet I just don’t ‘get’ social media or the almost blind faith and belief so many seem to place in what they see posted.

So the wave. In all It’s edited forms. Such a simple picture. Yet so easy to change the ‘mood’ of the scene.

Yep. I’ve no idea where I am or was going with that!

I guess maybe just a reminder to myself that things are not always as they appear.

Think it’s time I had a word with myself :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.